Connect, Share and Learn on a JourneyWomen Community Call

by | Jan 7, 2022 | 1 comment

Join us on our 2022 JourneyWoman community calls

Last updated on March 26th, 2022

Featured image: Join us for our JourneyWoman community calls throughout 2022

For the community, by the community

By JourneyWoman

Our Community Calls were launched in April 2020 when the entire world was in some stage of lockdown. We started them to keep isolated JourneyWomen feeling connected and to create a greater sense of community among our readers. We thought it would be a temporary effort, but the calls touched something in the hearts of JourneyWomen, our numbers grew, and we kept them going without taking breaks—even when July 4, Christmas Day and New Year’s Day fell on Fridays. We added a monthly West Coast Call and one for the Southern Hemisphere.

We’ve been inspired by the openness, generosity, wisdom, and support displayed by participants on calls that made us alternately laugh, cry, smile, sigh, and feel the bonds of global sisterhood. That’s all down to the calibre and character of the women in this community. 

So, as travel begins to ramp up, we’re opting to do things a little differently this year. We’re switching up the format and frequency to breathe new life into programming that we’ve been running for almost two years now. We’re getting members of the community more involved in these calls—not only as participants but as hosts.

JourneyWoman 2022 Community Calls—What to Expect

Frequency

We will hold two Community Calls each month:

  • One on the second Friday of the month at 10 am EST/7 am PST
  • One on the fourth Thursday of the month at 3 pm PST/6 pm EST/10 am AEDT (first Thursday call of 2022 is at 11 am PST/2 pm EST/6 am AEDT)

Format & Hosts

To keep things fresh and regular attendees engaged, we’ve created a format that will see us rotate between tips-based discussion topics and issues-based discussion topics—a mix of the practical and fun, and the deep and inspiring.

In addition to Carolyn and Amanda, who will lead a select number of calls in 2022, we’re tapping women in this community to try their hand at hosting—and we’ll be bringing in some special guest experts when the topic calls for it. A selection of the topics that we and women of the community have cooked up for you:

  • Living a Nomadic Life 
  • Age-Defying Women 
  • What I Wish the Travel Industry Understood About Who I Am/How I Travel
  • How Can We All Become Better Travellers?
  • How Can We Make the World Safer for Women?
  • How to Connect with Locals & Make Friends Around the World
  • The Best Markets Around the World & Why We Love Them
  • Things Travellers Don’t Want to Think About but Need To: Wills & Finances

How to Register

Register for each call you plan to attend on Eventbrite and get a unique Zoom link delivered to your inbox. More details here.

Cost

We use a Pay What You Can model for calls to help offset the cost of programming and Zoom.  (The minimum donation is $1). We appreciate every donation we receive, no matter how small. It helps keep us and this community running.

Follow JourneyWoman for curated articles, tips, news and content from our community and our partners.

1 Comment

  1. Pamela Fearon

    Sounds great

    Reply

We always strive to use real photos from our own adventures, provided by the guest writer or from our personal travels. However, in some cases, due to photo quality, we must use stock photography. If you have any questions about the photography please let us know.

Disclaimer: We are so happy that you are checking out this page right now! We only recommend things that are suggested by our community, or through our own experience, that we believe will be helpful and practical for you. Some of our pages contain links, which means we’re part of an affiliate program for the product being mentioned. Should you decide to purchase a product using a link from on our site, JourneyWoman may earn a small commission from the retailer, which helps us maintain our beautiful website. JourneyWoman is an Amazon Associate and earns from qualifying purchases. Thank you!

We want to hear what you think about this article, and we welcome any updates or changes to improve it. You can comment below, or send an email to us at editor@journeywoman.com.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Send this to a friend